Genuine

….But my sleeping bag is so warm! Do I have to get up?

Good morning WROLC Day Two! (Catch up by reading WROLC Day One)

I slid out of my sleeping bag and stepped out of my yellow tent into the garish shanty town tent city.

IMG_1486

My game plan for the day was pretty straightforward: attend some workshops, catch up with some Davis homies, and connect with some new folks.

I could elaborate on the intriguing workshops I attended (see the last part of this blog post….had to!), but the most radiant parts of my day centered around conversations with people. Simple, really.

Throughout the course of the day my faith in humanity was given a healthy dose of goodness.

[People] smiled. At everyone. [People] introduced themselves. [People] joined in. Walking to the same place? [People] shared the stroll with a new soul. Meal time became family time. Once a new friend was made, [people] introduced that new friend to their friends. Networks and connections happened. Easily. Something to say? [People] took the time to listen. Already forgot that new friend’s name? [People] forgave and carried forward.

I met some Port Townsend natives (because of my Adventuress CREW t-shirt) and got super stoked about the good waters of the Pacific Northwest, chatted about home schooling / schooling / education with a Davis homie who once attended a conference where Blake was the keynote speaker(!), ran into a kid who climbed with me at Deer Crossing Camp way back in the day when I was first an instructor (he was a scrawny teenager — now he’s way taller than me and almost done with college…wild!), and sat for a long time overlooking Monterey Bay with my pal Devo and new friend Ryan, a WROLC presenter and founder of Positive Vibrations.

P1130718

Ryan broke down the nitty gritty of the “Future of Outdoor Education” during his presentation. These bullet boxes hit home for me and I’m sure they will resonate with you if you are an outdoor educator.

Common Traits Among Outdoor Educators
-Almost incorruptible
-Cause and effect
-Embedded in just communities
-Just communities are the highest level of community ethos, ethic, culture
-Willing to take risks
-Willing to exhaust for a worthy cause

What We Can Do
-Believe in your work
-Recommit to the power of outdoor education
-Trust and change it, don’t let it change you
-Seek power
-Get in the garden! Don’t point out the weeds; join together to make change. Step up.
-Be an ambassador of hope.

This entry was posted in California and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Genuine

  1. Pingback: Pennies and Beer Cans | jmcpdotcom

A Penny For Your Thoughts?

