Hip Hop Sensei

A few weeks back my buddy Iv called me and proposed a Valley climbing trip. I had a few things on the agenda, so we settled for a day trip. Looking back now, I’m calling it The 25 Hour Sesh. In short, we rolled from the Bay Area in the wee hours of the morning, arrived in Yosemite Valley as the sun was rising, climbed the 11 pitches of East Buttress of Middle Cathedral, topped out and gazed across at the headlamp disco party on El Capitan, rappelled down to the Valley floor, and rolled back to the Bay Area (arriving at my house about 25 hours after we had left).
Big up to Iv.

The point of this recollection: George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic.

Who?

George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic!

One of my favorite bands of all time! Iv and I drove into the Valley bumping Atomic Dog. It remained my stuck-in-my-head-soundtrack for the entirety of The 25 Hour Sesh.

Fast forward. …or… Throw back.

If you’ve ever driven with me, in my little hatchback, the rice rocket, you know that I have quite an eclectic taste of music…from the obnoxious collection of CDs sliding around on the floor. I started groovin’ to this (P Funk – Parliament)…

Make my funk the P.Funk
I want my funk uncut
Make my funk the P.Funk
I wants to get funked up.

…about the same time I started head nodding to this (The Message – Grand Master Flash and the Furious Five):

Don’t push me cause I’m close to the edge
I’m trying not to lose my head
It’s like a jungle sometimes
It makes me wonder how I keep from going under

As you can see, I’ve got a thing for funk and I’ve got a thang for rap.

…I worked with this kick ass snow bro when I worked at Northstar. A mellow dude, yellow ski jacket, with some funky flare and a hell-of-a knack for teaching skiing.

clips 046

Fact: Spence skis in the backcountry 12 months a year. For multiple years now. In California. Lesser known fact: He used to be a rap journalist. Word up.

I contacted him recently asking for his tutelage in the hip hop department. He steered me toward a handful of albums and I’ve been listening to Gang Starr’s Step In The Arena all week. Click on this sentence to read what Spence had to say about this album back in 2007. Cheers Spence. I’m diggin’ it.

This entry was posted in California. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hip Hop Sensei

  1. Pingback: Sun’s Out, Gun’s Out | jmcpdotcom

  2. Pingback: Low End Theory | jmcpdotcom

A Penny For Your Thoughts?

